Interview Outfit 101

Nailing your interview outfit can have a huge impact on the interview itself. The way you present yourself, outfit included, sets the frame for the first impression your interviewer will have of you. You want to dress for the job you want and feel confident in what you are wearing.


If you are interviewing for an internship on Wall Street I recommend going for a classic suit with neutral colors like this J.Crew 1035 two-button jacket in pinstripe. Its sleek fit will prevent you from drowning in the material and will help maintain a feminine look. Although it is on the more expensive side, it is high quality and will last forever, in quality and style.

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 8.52.08 PMScreen Shot 2015-03-13 at 8.52.02 PM

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 9.04.40 PM Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 9.06.12 PM


For those of you fashionistas who are looking for an internship or job in the fashion or media industry, you may want to wear an outfit that compliments your personal style on a professional level. This past week I had a very important internship interview at a fashion PR company and I knew wearing an all black blazer wouldn’t make me stand out. I opted to wear slim curve Topshop blazer in pink. It sharp lines and tailored slim fitted jacket kept me from looking too masculine. For my bottoms, I wore Trouvé Elastic Cuff Pleated Pants found at Nordstrom. I have shapely, muscular legs and tight pants do not always look best on me, especially in a business setting. These tapered pants with elasticized zip cuffs made them extremely flattering, while the pleats and pockets lend office-ready sophistication. I highly recommend these! Underneath it all I wore a classic cap-sleeve shirttail blouse in black from J.Crew and Louise et Cie Esperance’ Pump in white. These shoes are only three inches tall and the adjustable ankle strap with buckle allows you to change how tight the band is on your heel for optimal comfort. I kept my jewelry simple, sticking to my favorite pair of pearls and Stella and Dot arrow necklace.

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 9.00.15 PM Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 8.59.24 PM

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 8.58.52 PM Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 9.02.29 PM


Regardless if you are striving to land a fashion internship or a business internship, I recommend always having a fair blazers, 3-4 inch heels, and a nice top coat in your closet for any kind of job. I have this Wilfred Chevalier Jacket from Aritzia in black and cream. It has a drapey fit with three-quarter length rolled sleeves, a shawl collar, and inseam pockets. It goes with everything and anything is great for layering. I also have Topshop’s textured throw-on coat, for the exact reason for its name. It’s unique color surprisingly has matched every outfit I have paired it with to date. It’s length keeps me warm and its metal popper fastenings make it super easy to get on and off.

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 9.01.48 PMScreen Shot 2015-03-13 at 9.17.47 PM

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 9.11.04 PM Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 9.17.54 PM


Interviews are exciting and nerve racking all at once. The least you can do is feel confident in your outfit and know that you made a professional impression. Remember, keep your heels under four inches so you aren’t taller than your interview and are able to walk at a fast pace around the officer, and keep the bright prints and colors to a minimum. You want the interview to remember how chic your outfit was, not how distracting the colors and jewelry were! I hope these interview outfit tips help make your next interview a little easier. As always, I would love to know what you wear for your interviews and any tips you may have.

xoxo,

Kayla

Leave a comment